How to Save Money on Essie at the Drugstore: Nothing Over $6! (Essie Spring Haul $3.50 – $6 each)

Hi guys! Today I am going to share a few of the new nail polishes I’ve picked up for Spring. They happen to all be Essie, which is weird for me, as I rarely buy Essie’s – they’re pretty pricey and never have sales/coupons but I didn’t pay full price for any of these and I wanted to share how! I share my personal tips for: CVS, Walgreens, Target, and Kohl’s below.

Here are the Essie polishes I’ve picked up in the past week (L-R):

11196589_1133944589964704_1195501664_oGood to Go Top Coat
Bikini So Teeny
Go Ginza
Worth the Wait (Hubby for Dessert collection)
Topless & Barefoot
Just Stitched (returned!) – read my review here

As I mentioned, I did not pay more than $6 for any of these… or probably any Essie, ever; here’s how!

CVS: $3.50-6 a bottle
CVS is my #1 place to buy Essie because of Extrabucks. If you don’t know what Extrabucks are, CVS has a rewards card that allows you to get these Extrabucks (essentially free store credit) that can be used on anything in the store. Sometimes they will be a coupon specifically for makeup, or skincare, but mostly they are open.

I got an email the other day to download the CVS app and get $3 Extrabucks free. I wasn’t too interested, until I went to CVS and scanned my card at the magic coupon machine (red price scanner LOL) and a coupon printed out for $4 off $15 of makeup or nail polish. By downloading the app, I got a total of $7 off two Essie’s priced at $8.50 each. Cost = $5 each

I picked up Bikini So Teeny and Just Stitched, which I later exchanged for Go Ginza (thankfully!)

The next time I went into CVS, I had an email coupon for $5 off $15 (anything in store). I used this one to pick up Essie’s Good to Go top coat for myself, and Topless & Barefoot (my favourite nude nail polish of all time) for my mom. Cost = $6 each

edit 4/30/2015 – I got another $5 extrabucks a couple days ago (man, they are just throwing those things away now – go get you some!) and picked up Tart Deco for $3.50! There was no limit on that extrabucks offer (so I didn’t have to spend a certain amount to use it). Cost = $3.50

Walgreens: $4 a bottle

I’m not sure if everyone’s Walgreens does this, but the one closest to me sometimes marks Essie down when they get a new display or have overflow. In my Walgreens, some of the newest Essie collections (Hubby for Dessert, Flowerista) were marked down between $4-6 a bottle, in a little acrylic bin on the bottom shelf where the seasonal makeup/body things are. I was really excited to find Worth the Wait in there, the one nail polish I absolutely wanted from Essie’s 2015 releases so far.
Some of the same shades were marked $4.25 or $5, so keep looking through the bin 🙂 I may have to go back and look at what else was in there! Cost = $4

Recently, Walgreens also had a $1 off Essie coupon behind the cosmetic checkout counter, so don’t be afraid to ask your cashier.

Target: $5.67 a bottle
I didn’t get anything from Target this time, but recently Target had a Buy Two Get One free deal on Essie. I got three back then too, Topless & Barefoot, Fiji, and No More Film. Cost = $5.67

Kohl’s: $5.60 a bottle (or free!)

Kohl’s is a tricky (but good) one! This depends on what kinds of coupons you get at Kohl’s, but cardholders very frequently get 15%, 20%, or 30% off anything in the store. You can also earn Kohl’s cash (again: essentially free store credit) in $10, $20 etc depending on how much you spend during Kohl’s cash earning periods. Worth it! If I ever get the 30% off, I’ll pick up a bottle of Essie. I’ve done it once so far, and picked up Play Date a couple of months ago.

edit 4/30/2015 – Also, don’t forget to check out your local Ross, TJ Maxx, Marshalls, Burlington and other discount stores! They usually have discontinued Essie polishes for around $4-5 a bottle. The tips I’ve outlined above help you get new collections or current polishes at a discount, but this can be a great way to find the special limited edition polish you’ve been after!

Hopefully this helped some of you nail polish lovers out there get a deal on Essie! I love Essie nail polish but it’s hard for me to justify spending almost $9 on nail polish, especially when China Glaze is frequently on sale at Sally Beauty Supply, and I’m just a lowly grad student (lol).

I know there are some websites where you can get Essie discounted, but I’m more of the instant gratification type ;D

Please share any other tips you have on saving $$$ on nail polish for everyone reading! xo

-Stephanie

One thought on “How to Save Money on Essie at the Drugstore: Nothing Over $6! (Essie Spring Haul $3.50 – $6 each)

Leave a Reply

